Andy Walker/Android Authority
- A new WhatsApp feature is now available to all users.
- Called View Once, this feature restricts the recipient from opening the sent image or video multiple times.
- It was initially launched to beta users in July 2021.
Update: August 4, 2021 (1:47 AM EST): After a short stay as a Beta feature, WhatsApp is now officially launching its new “view once” message feature. Since the first test in July, the feature has not changed much. Nevertheless, it still restricts recipients from opening these messages multiple times.
WeChat Believe This feature will benefit users who send sensitive or personal information, such as “Wi-Fi password” or “new clothes you are trying on.” However, this feature does not restrict recipients from intercepting messages.
This feature will start rolling out this week, so if you want to try this feature, please be prepared to update your app.
Original: July 1, 2021 (4:23 AM EST): WhatsApp now has a new feature that allows senders to better control their photos and videos. Called View Once, this feature restricts the recipient from opening the image multiple times.
Was initially teased by WhatsApp and Facebook bigwigs, Beta Information Please note that this feature is now being rolled out to Beta testers on platforms running version 126.96.36.199. We can confirm that the version of the application also supports this feature. Users of the old version of WhatsApp can still receive “view once” messages, but cannot use this feature to send messages. In addition, this feature will be applicable to private and group chats.You can go to voicemail Options.
How to send and view a message on WhatsApp
So how do I know if I have enabled viewing once? Well, this will be very obvious, because the option will appear when sending media to other people.
To use this feature:
- Open private or group chat.
- Click the paperclip icon to attach/record images/videos.
- After selecting an image/video or capturing new media, click 1 Icon next to send Button.
- A message “The photo/video is set to view once” will appear.
- You can now send media. The recipient can only view it once.
Check it out once: what you should know
Although this feature restricts users from viewing images or videos multiple times, it is not completely safe. First, if the recipient captures the image, WhatsApp will not notify you.More importantly, if you share an image or video once in a group containing blocked contacts, these contacts can still View the media. Therefore, in fact, “view once” is not a reliable way to ensure that images or clips are not kept or shared by others.
Read more: Master these basic tips and tricks for WhatsApp
Although “check once” is now only available in the beta channel of the app, privacy advocates hope WhatsApp will resolve these issues before the feature launches a stable version. Nonetheless, you should always pay attention to what you send to others, even if more privacy features enter the messaging app.